Club Constitution

Club Constitution

NERF Constitution 2012





(a) The name of the Club will be” NORTH EASTERN RADIO FLYERS” hereinafter referred to as “the Club”.

(b) The formation of the Club is not for the purpose of carrying on a business for the gain of any individual Member(s) of the Club.

(c) Legal liability is vested in the Club as a whole and not in the committee nor individual Members.


(a)    Any person who, in the opinion of the Committee, wishes to pursue the sport of aeromodelling.

(b)   Any person who has paid the entrance fee and annual subscription as laid down by the Committee from time to time. This includes any levies which may be required for the enhancement of the Club facilities as agreed to by the Members.

(c) Membership shall be limited to no more than 200 (Two Hundred) paid-up Members at any time.


(a) To promote the sport of aeromodelling, in particular radio-controlled model flying and to provide Members with suitable facilities to practice the sport.

(b) To assist Members in becoming proficient in the art of flying radio controlled model aircraft.


(a) Membership of the Club will be subject to the approval of the elected Committee after application forms and requisite entrance fee and annual subscription have been submitted. .

(b) The elected Committee has the right at its sole discretion to approve or decline applications for Membership.

(c) Membership of SAMAA (South African Model Aircraft Association) is mandatory.

(d) Should the conduct of any Member of the Club, in the opinion of the elected Committee be contrary to the Constitution or Rules and Regulations of the Club, the elected Committee has the right, after due warning to a Member, to suspend or withdraw that Membership.

(e) Membership will automatically cease should a Member fail to renew the annual subscription, for whatever reason, within the specified time. Re-instatement will only be considered if the member in default motivates to the Committee, the circumstances that have resulted in the failure to pay the annual subscription.



Junior Membership (Up to the age of 18)

Student Membership (A valid student card must be present)

Adult Membership

Senior Membership (Age 60 plus)

(b) A Joining fee plus the Annual subscription is payable be all new applicants.

All applicants joining after the 1st April will pay subscriptions for the balance of the months remaining in a particular year, reducing by one twelfth every month through to December.

(c) The Joining Fee and Annual subscription for Juniors, Students, Adults and Seniors will be motivated by the committee for the following year and ratified by the members at the Annual General Meeting.

(d) Annual subscriptions are payable by 31st day of January each year unless expressly advised in writing to the contrary or Membership will be forfeited.

(e) Should a Member leave the Club for whatever reason, no Application Fee or Annual Subscription will be refunded.


(a) The Executive Committee shall consist of 3 (three) paid-up Members, duly elected by the Members in terms of the Constitution of the Club. A further 4 (four) paid-up Members shall be appointed as the Normal Committee who are responsible for the day-to-day running of the Club.

(b) The Executive Committee shall consist of a Chairman, Secretary and Treasurer.

(c) The term of office of any Committee Member shall be for a period of 1 (one) year unless re- elected.

(d) Should a Committee Member resign during his term of office, the remaining Committee Members have the right, at their sole discretion, to appoint a replacement without prior consultation with the Members.

(e) The entire Committee is responsible for the running of the Club and the enforcement of its Rules and Regulations.

(f) The Executive and Normal Committee have the right to co-opt any number of additional Members to the Committee for specific tasks without prior consultation with Members.

(g)  3 (Three) Committee members form a quorum.


(a) The Financial year commences on the 1st day of March annually.

(b) All monies received by the Club shall be deposited in an approved interest bearing account at a financial institution.

(c) No withdrawals may be made without the approval of the Executive Committee and 2 (two) Committee Members must be authorized signatories on the account.

(d) The Executive Committee is required to account to the Members annually as to the disposition of funds received.


(a) Meetings will be held as and when necessary. Members will be notified by the Secretary of forthcoming General or Special meetings to be held at least 30 (thirty) days prior to the meeting. An agenda will accompany the notification.

(b) Five members or more have the right to call special General Meetings of the Club at any time provided that prior notification of such meeting, together with an agenda for the meeting, is handed to the secretary of the Club at least 30 (thirty) days prior to the meeting.


(a)    All Ordinary Members shall be entitled to vote at any meeting provided that they are paid-up members of the Club at the time of the meeting. Junior Members cannot vote.

(b)  Proxy votes at any Meeting will not be accepted.


No alterations, amendments, or additions to this constitution shall be made or adopted except by a resolution passed by two-thirds majority of the members present, and entitled to vote at an Annual General Meeting called for that purpose provided that notice of the proposed amendment appears on the Agenda of the meeting.


(a)  The Club shall only be dissolved by a resolution passed by two thirds majority of the members present and entitled to vote at an Annual General Meeting or a special meeting called for this reason.

(b)  The quorum for such a meeting shall be at least one third of the total members who are entitled to vote.

(c) Notice of such a meeting shall clearly state the dissolution of the Club and that the disposing of its assets will be decided.

(d)  If there is no quorum at such a meeting, the meeting will be adjourned in accordance with the terms of the provisions of clause 8 of this constitution and when it is resumed it shall finally decide with an ordinary vote irrespective of the number of members in attendance.

Amended March 2012

Comitee Members

Name   e-Mail
Dean Grobbelaar   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Tony Rorke   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Walter Lin   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Abré Smit   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Allan Snyman   This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Club Secretary
09:00 - 15:00 Monday - Friday
Office: 076 714 6058
Fax: 086 610 7439
e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.